Independent guide. If you buy through links on this page we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Our verdicts are based on the evidence, not on who pays. How we make money.
Quick answer
The four platforms most people compare for Excel — Coursera, Udemy, LinkedIn Learning and GoSkills — differ more in pricing model than in teaching. Coursera bundles university and Microsoft programs into Coursera Plus ($59/month list or $399/year, 7-day trial) and lets you take many courses free without the certificate1. Udemy sells courses individually with a 30-day refund and frequent sales; the most-enrolled Excel course has 1.8 million students and a 4.7 rating from 542,786 ratings4. GoSkills is a subscription ($39/month or $249/year) with 22 Excel titles6. LinkedIn Learning is bundled into LinkedIn Premium Career at $39.99/month5. All issue certificates of completion, not certifications; for a proctored credential you need the MOS exams.
Excel course platforms compared
| Platform | Pricing model (US) | Free option | Refund | Certificate | Excel highlights | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coursera | Coursera Plus $59/mo list ($35/mo promo until Sep 23, 2026) or $399/yr; 7-day free trial | “Full Course, No Certificate” on many courses; financial aid on some programs | 14 days on annual Plus | From the university or company offering the program (e.g. Macquarie University, Microsoft) | Excel Skills for Business (Macquarie; 4 courses; 4.9 from 64,115 reviews); Microsoft Excel Professional Certificate (4 Copilot-centred courses; 4.3 from 550) | Structured, graded programs with a recognisable issuer |
| Udemy | Per course; list and sale prices vary (not verified here — check the course page) | Some free courses (no certificate) | 30 days on course purchases; none on subscriptions | Certificate of completion; Udemy: “not an accredited institution” | Microsoft Excel – Excel from Beginner to Advanced (Kyle Pew): 22h 18m, 348 lectures, 4.7 from 542,786 ratings, 1,822,694 students, updated 8/2026 | One deep course, bought once |
| LinkedIn Learning | Included in LinkedIn Premium Career: $39.99/mo or $239.88/yr; standalone Learning price not verified | Free trial (length not stated on the page we could read) | Not verified | Certificate of completion, shareable to your LinkedIn profile | Learning paths for Excel (details not verified — LinkedIn blocks automated reading) | People who already pay for LinkedIn Premium |
| GoSkills | $39/mo or $249/yr; 7-day free trial | Trial only | Not stated on the pricing page | Certificate of completion; CPD UK accreditation (GoSkills’ claim) | 22 Excel titles: Excel 365 Basic & Advanced (61 lessons, 5h 46m), PivotTables, Macros & VBA, Dashboards, Power Query, Power Pivot, Excel for Accounting | Short, focused lessons across the whole Excel feature set |
How we compared them
We read each platform’s pricing, refund and certificate pages and the pages of the flagship Excel courses, and recorded what was there. Where a platform blocks automated reading (LinkedIn) or renders prices only in the browser (Udemy), we say “not verified” rather than quote a number from memory. We have not completed these courses; individual course reviews will say clearly what we did. Our method is on the editorial methodology page.
Pricing models, and why they matter more than the catalogue
Every platform teaches Excel competently at the beginner and intermediate level; the difference is what you pay for and for how long. Subscriptions (Coursera Plus, GoSkills, LinkedIn Premium) reward people who will study several courses in a short burst and cancel. Per-course purchases (Udemy) reward people who want one comprehensive course they can return to for years. Coursera’s free “Full Course, No Certificate” option means you can complete most of the material without paying if the certificate does not matter to you2; Udemy’s 30-day refund covers courses but explicitly not its subscription plan3; GoSkills’ pricing page states no money-back guarantee, so use the seven-day trial deliberately6.
What the certificates are worth
Verified fact
Udemy’s own support page states: “Udemy is not an accredited institution. Certificates demonstrate skills and accomplishments, but they cannot be used for formal accreditation”3. Coursera certificates carry the name of the university or company that built the program1. GoSkills describes its certificates as CPD UK accredited, which is GoSkills’ own statement6. None of these is a proctored exam.
Editorial analysis
Use a course certificate to show that you studied, and list it as such. If a job ad or a manager asks for “Excel certification”, they usually mean Microsoft’s MOS exams, which are a separate purchase ($104 per exam voucher in the US). Our certifications hub explains the difference and when each is worth the money.
Free Excel courses with a certificate: read the small print
“Free course with certificate” is often only half true. Microsoft Learn’s Excel modules are free and award badges and trophies, not certificates7. Alison lets you study for free but charges for the certificate; the free alternative is a “Learner Record”8. Great Learning’s “Excel for Beginners” is free to study, and its own FAQ says a non-refundable fee applies if you want the certificate9. Coursera’s financial aid is the most reliable route to a free certificate from a recognised issuer, on the programs that offer it2. A full guide is on the roadmap: free Excel courses with certificate.
How to choose
- You want the most respected Excel course on a résumé. Macquarie University’s Excel Skills for Business on Coursera: four courses, “3 months at 10 hours a week”, 709,542 enrolled, 4.9 from 64,115 reviews1. Use Coursera Plus for one to three months, or apply for financial aid.
- You want one course you can keep. Udemy’s Excel from Beginner to Advanced: 22 hours, bought once, refundable for 30 days4. Buy during a sale.
- You want short lessons across advanced features (Power Query, Power Pivot, VBA, dashboards). GoSkills for a month or two6.
- You already pay for LinkedIn Premium. Use the Learning library you already have; do not pay twice5.
- You are preparing for a MOS exam. Keep the official skills outline beside any course, and use official practice tests — see the MO-211 guide.
Platform reviews and comparisons
Frequently asked questions
Which Excel course is best?
For a recognised issuer and structured grading, Macquarie University’s Excel Skills for Business on Coursera (4.9 from 64,115 reviews). For a single course you own, Udemy’s Excel from Beginner to Advanced (4.7 from 542,786 ratings). For advanced features in short lessons, GoSkills. The best choice depends on whether you prefer a subscription or a one-off purchase.
Are Excel course certificates worth anything?
They show that you completed training. They are not certifications: Udemy states it is not an accredited institution, and none of the platforms proctors an exam. For a credential employers recognise as an exam, take a Microsoft Office Specialist exam.
Can I learn Excel on Coursera for free?
Often, yes. Many Coursera courses offer a “Full Course, No Certificate” option, and some programs offer financial aid that includes the certificate.
How much does Coursera Plus cost?
$59 per month at list price or $399 per year, with a 7-day free trial. A $35 per month promotion was running until September 23, 2026.
Does Microsoft’s Excel Professional Certificate on Coursera prepare me for the MOS exam?
Its page does not mention the MOS exams. It is a four-course program built around Copilot in Excel with a certificate of completion; the MOS exams are separate proctored tests.
Sources
- Coursera Plus, Excel Skills for Business Specialization and Microsoft Excel Professional Certificate — Coursera. Accessed September 3, 2026.
- Excel Skills for Business: Essentials (FAQ on “Full Course, No Certificate” and financial aid) — Coursera. Accessed September 3, 2026.
- Udemy’s refund policy and certificates of completion — Udemy Support. Accessed September 3, 2026.
- Microsoft Excel – Excel from Beginner to Advanced — Udemy. Accessed September 3, 2026.
- LinkedIn Premium Career — LinkedIn. Accessed September 3, 2026.
- GoSkills individual pricing, Excel courses, Excel 365 – Basic & Advanced and accreditations — GoSkills. Accessed September 3, 2026.
- Microsoft Learn training FAQ — Microsoft. Accessed September 3, 2026.
- Is Alison really free? — Alison Help Center. Accessed September 3, 2026.
- Excel for Beginners — Great Learning. Accessed September 3, 2026.
Update log
- Published. Pricing models, refund rules and certificate terms verified against the sources above; Udemy prices and LinkedIn Learning standalone pricing left unverified.